Confession of Faith in a Mennonite Perspective, 1995

Mennonite Church USA


  1. God
  2. Jesus Christ
  3. Holy Spirit
  4. Scripture
  5. Creation and Divine Providence
  6. The Creation and Calling of Human Beings
  7. Sin
  8. Salvation
  9. The Church of Jesus Christ
  10. The Church in Mission
  11. Baptism
  12. The Lord’s Supper
  13. Foot Washing
  14. Discipline in the Church
  15. Ministry and Leadership
  16. Church Order and Unity
  17. Discipleship and the Christian Life
  18. Christian Sprituality
  19. Family, Singleness, and Marriage
  20. Truth and the Avoidance of Oaths
  21. Christian Stewardship
  22. Peace, Justice, and Nonresistance
  23. The Church’s Relations to Government and Society
  24. The Reign of God

Summary Statement, Confession of Faith in a Mennonite Perspective.

Adopted by the delegates of Mennonite Church General Assembly, and of the General Conference Mennonite Church Triennial Session, July 28, 1995, Wichita, Kansas. Mennonite Church USA, formed by the merger of these two groups, has adopted this confession as its statement of faith. Copyright © 1995 by Herald Press Scottdale PA 15683. Used by permission. Order print copies of Confession of Faith in a Mennonite Perspective, and Summary Statement, Confession of Faith in a Mennonite Perspective, From Herald Press, Scottdale, Pa. Worship resources based on this confession, and translations are also available.

Mennonite Church General Assembly action: “To approve the articles and summary statement of the Confesson of Faith in a Mennonite Perspective and commend them to areas conferences, congregations and denominational ministries as their statement of faith for teaching and nurture in the life of the church; we further endorse the commentary as helpful clarification and illustrative applicaton of the articles in the confession. We ask the Committee* and the Mennonite Church and General Conference Mennonite Church General Boards to consider the counsel given and to approve a final draft of the confession for the church.” (Proceedings, pp 27-28.)

*Members of the Inter-Mennonite Confession of Faith Committee: Marlin E. Miller (co-chair), S. David Garber, Beulah Hostetler, Samuel Lopez, Ann Weber-Becker, Helmut Harder (co-chair), Lois Barrett, Heinz Janzen, Jake Tilitzky and Ted VanderEnde.

%d bloggers like this: